Paranormal Activity 3 pre-review 10/21/11


So I’ve been following paranormal activity since the first one came out way back when, it’s crazy to think that they are already coming out with the third one. Of course I’m excited because I’m a total horror junkie, I love the adrenaline and it’s always nice to bring a guy to cling onto him XD. Anyway, I’m a little thrown back by the third one, they keep going farther and farther in the past, proving that the entire family were cinematographers.

I mean, little girls in horror movies are scary to begin with, but when one is talking to this imaginary friend, it gets even creepier. The movie is of course going to be first person, which means that someone is carrying around a camera, I think this brings up the scary factor, because it’s not all CG, it’s like your there, experiencing it for yourself. One of the things that this series seems to do so well is screw with your comfort level, it makes you scared of certain areas, and makes you relax in other areas, then it freaks you out in those areas you were so comfortable with. I really think they perfected this in the second one so I’m interested in seeing what they do with this third one. I think that’s what sets this movie apart from the others, you don’t have to see the creepy thing to be scared, it’s more of the atmosphere that is scary rather than this thing that you never see. It’s the possibility that something might happen, and they don’t do that by doing really loud music that builds up tension just to go away then something jumps out, the movies don’t have any music in them whatsoever.

Anyway, I kind of have mixed feelings about going and seeing this movie, I’m not sure how well it’s going to go, I’m just really hoping that they haven’t drove this series into the ground. I will put an official review after I see it, this is just sort of my ideas before seeing it.

Leave a Reply

