Muppets review 12/10/11


Jesus it has been FOREVER since I last posted. I was going to post something else but then my parents decided we were going out for a dinner and a movie so I decided to leave the shadows of my dorm and join them. And now I just have to write this review, because, well it was a necessity. Being born in the nineties, well straight on 1990 in fact, we had the Muppets in our lives through movies like the pirate one “Treasure Island” and the one where Gonzo tries to go back to his home planet. We were raised on the group functioning as a whole with silly little quirks and gimics. Kermit would try to dodge the love of Miss Piggy while poor Beaker tried to survive the next terrible experiment the professor guy tried to dish out. Anyway even though I didn’t get to enjoy the full benefits of watching the original show, I had an idea of who they were and some of the dynamics that worked between them.

 

The way the movie had actually come into being was really cute, Jason Segal, the main guy in the story, fell in love with the series as a kid. Even though he wasn’t around when the original show was out, his parents had recorded the episodes and watched them with him. He was the one who brought this back, paying out of his own pocket to get the production rolling, and even sitting down and writing the movie out with someone else, which I think is really sweet. Stars, both young and old joined the project with him, which is why you see famous actors of all ages appearing as cameos in the movie.

The story of the movie is nice, Walter is the main star, a muppet himself, who notices pretty early on that he isn’t like other kids. Walter watches the Muppets and after seeing the similarities he has with them he becomes their biggest fan. Everything in his life has to do with the Muppets. His brother, Gary (Jason) grows up as a normal kid, but seeing his brothers differences as well he stays by his side. They do everything together, and by everything, I mean EVERYTHING. Gary turns, I don’t know, lets say… 25? And is still in a bed next to his brother, keeping things nice and clean for the kids despite the fact that Gary has a girlfriend of 10 years named Mary. Though Gary is happy with the relationship, always keeping Walter involved, Mary wants to be more of a couple. The two are going to go to L.A. to celebrate they’re 10 year anniversary, of course Gary invites Walter along who wants to see the theater which hosted the show when in was on. They go to the studio to find it has fallen apart with time. Walter sneaks into a closed area which was formerly Kermit’s office to find a few menacing looking fellows talking over the contract of the Muppets including the property, they want to get the land from the muppets to tear it down and drill for oil. Hearing this Walter springs into action and finds Kermit telling him about the terrible news, the small gang ventures out to get all the muppets back together to put on one last show to get enough money to save the theater. The story goes on for a while, emotional problems are solved and the gang is brought back together once again. They put on the show and defeat the evil guy and are brought back into fame. Of course there’s more into it than that, but well, I think you guys get the gist.

Now for the review. It’s important to remember that this movie is for kids. It isn’t meant to have mature humor or death defying stunts, there’s no sex or foul language and that’s how it’s meant to be. For me, the movie seemed pretty slow starting off, it took it a while and I found myself almost being bored at times. There seemed to be some situations that only adults could understand like trying to find yourself and regretting things that have happened in the past. I thought these things would go right over a kids head and would bore them as well. One of the reviews for this movie mentioned Fonzie Bear’s fart shoes, saying it was inappropriate and stuff like that, for me, the shoes were fantastic and were used ingeniously, so those reviewers can just blow it out their butts, because Fonzie is blowing it out his shoes. I think this movie would be good to watch at home on your screen, there were kids in the theater and you wouldn’t believe it, but kids aren’t known for sitting down quietly. Let the kids watch this at home while playing with their toys and they’ll be plenty amused. Keep it as a movie for them to watch over and over again as I’m sure they will so they can grow up with Kermit. There aren’t many adult jokes hidden in there as I was hoping there would be, except for a few references to the older movies and an adorable scene where the chicken ladies sing “fuck you” by Celo (Or however you spell it) Green. I think you really saw the innocence of Jason Segal in this, with cute little musical numbers and the look in his eye which portrayed the innocence of a child. Oh! I also enjoyed the Cameos that people played, the guy who plays along with Jason in “How I Met Your Mother” is in there along with Neil Patrick Harris, for the kids there is also Selena Gomez. I did enjoy this movie but as I said, it sometimes left me getting a bit antzy in my seat so I could imagine what the kids were going through. As I said before, buy this when it comes out on DVD and pop it into the TV for the little ones to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

