Being civil


Alright guys, this is my first time posting about my current job which is at a local amusement park. I’ve been working there nearly a month but may soon have to leave because of school, but I want to give it a go first before officially calling it quits. Anyway, I’m a generally good person, I like to help people when they are in need and like to make people happy whenever I can. When I heard that my co worker was going through a really hard time, her dad had just died, losing a battle to cancer. I had told her right off the bat that if she ever needed me to cover or ever needed help or ever needed to go home early I would cover her and would take care of her, It’s just thought it was the right thing to do and even teared up at the thought of what it would be like if I lost my dad. She did use these opportunities, leaving early a few days because she was understandably tired, covering her when she needed to take personal breaks, so on and so forth. I don’t know if it’s just me but when someone does something nice for me, I try to be nice to them, and it’s not like I’m asking her to give me a ton of gratitude or anything like that, all I ask is to be treated as a human but this girl… I don’t know what her deal is but she treats me like shit. At first I thought it was just the situation, but she treats everyone else fine. Maybe you’re not understanding what I mean by treating me like shit, so let me give you a couple of examples;

-About a week ago we had a camp come in, I was working at the ticket redemption area, where kids redeem tickets they won at the arcade for little prizes, there was this little girl hanging out around that area, just watching kids get their prizes all the while being calm. I asked her if she had any tickets, she told me she didn’t have any money, so seeing that I had a dollar in my tip jar I took it out and gave it to her to play some games and win some tickets of her own. At this my co-worker came up to me and said “You know we all split those tips right?” I told her I did, she says she saw me take a dollar out to which I responded I was planning on taking a dollar out of my split of the tips from the very beginning. To this she really blows me away in saying that people have been talking about me taking tips from the bar. Now, when I serve a customer at the bar and they leave a tip for me I take that tip and put it in my tip jar, it’s not like I shove it in my pocket or anything like that, I just put it in the tip jar that we will be splitting anyway. She tells me that I’m not even supposed to be working the bar anyway. I told her that there are many times where she goes home and it’s just me and one other person working, that person may be working at the ticket station and if there is a customer there at the bar I am going to help them. I’m not just going to let them sit there hungry and thirsty, that’s just ridiculous. And it’s true, there are so many times where she just goes home early when she’s not supposed to, which isn’t a big deal since we can handle it. Is it just me or is that ridiculous? Saying I’m not allowed at the bar when my normal station is just steps away. Sure, if they want a mixed drink which I don’t know how to do, then I’m going to get someone who can make it and they can have the tip, but if they want some food and beer then I know I can do that and there’s no reason for me not to. The fact she was practically accusing me of stealing tips is just unbelievable, I’m not the kind of person to take from others or leave them up shit creek without a paddle, I’m not going to take money that does not belong to me. I had told my other co worker about this, clearly upset by this, thinking someone would think of me like that when I have done nothing to suggest I was that kind of person, my other coworker gasped in shock saying there’s no way I would do something like that.

-Alright the second thing, this just happened a few days ago. We had a couple parties come in during this particular problematic encounter. After the majority of the parties were finished this coworker along with another girl who came back after I guess a few months of absence were doing the dishes of their parties. I wanted to help but seeing that two people were already doing the dishes I felt that if I tried to push myself in I would just end up getting in the way, a fair idea I thought, so I went along my way restocking and watching the counter like I’m supposed to when the problem one came up to me and started berating me saying “We have two parties to get to and you are doing nothing, you should be cleaning them, not us, this is ridiculous, blah blah blah blah” she went on and on. I don’t mind cleaning dishes when needed and if you need help there is a way to go about it, like, oh I don’t know, asking nicely perhaps? And it wasn’t just that. Not thirty minutes before she started yelling at me about this we were having a big rush, a line of people that I was taking care of all by myself without the help of any of the girls who are supposed to work as a team. She was relaxing in the back bullshitting around with the managers while I was rushing around everywhere. I don’t know, it all seems so stupid how hypocritical this girl is.

One day we almost connected, we were laughing and talking and she was treating me like a human, I had told her I was worried that she hated me, she told me that she’s just really timid, this was before these two intense incidents and it makes me think she was just spouting bullshit. Like I said, I enjoy helping people and I don’t expect them to kiss my feet or anything like that, but it’s not too much to ask to just use common courtesy, there’s a difference between being timid and being a bitch.

I just needed to get that out the since it’s been bugging me for a while and I want to talk to her but it’s just so hard to talk to her since she’s so unapproachable, she treats everyone else nicely except for me and I don’t know what I did wrong, I don’t want to seem bitchy or anything but to be quite honest I’m done with helping her out, until she shows an ounce of kindness towards me I have to say I’m absolutely done, if she needs me to cover her or needs to go home or anything like that I have to admit, the desire to help her has dissipated completely.

Leave a Reply

